Cricket World Cup Winners list

Cricket World Cup Winners list

Cricket World Cup Winners list cricket lover is all over the world. They love to know information about their favorite team, match, data, etc. Because they are hard to die fan of the cricket world cup and lots of things about cricket. Here is Full list about Cricket World Cup Winners list.

So If you want to know Cricket World Cup Winners and You want to be updated all world updates

read, subscribe to our blog.

Cricket World Cup Winners list


Cricket World Cup Winners list

The following is a list of the winning country and runner up for each Cricket World Cup. Click on the country names for more country information, or click on the year for more information about the tournament for that year.

2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
1996Sri LankaAustralia
1983IndiaWest Indies
1979West IndiesEngland
1975West IndiesAustralia

Read More – Icc World Cup Team Groups

cricket world cup winners list


Countries with Number of Titles and Year

Australia Cricket Team is the most successful team in ICC world cup tournament as they become world champions five times in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. India and West Indies have won world cups 2 times each. West Indies won first two cricket world cups 1975 and 1979.
CountryNumber of TitlesYear
1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
1983, 2011
West Indies
1975, 1979
Sri Lanka

ICC T-20 World Cup Host Country

YearHostFinal venueWinnerRunner-up
2007 South AfricaJohannesburg IndiaPakistan
2009 EnglandLondon PakistanSri Lanka
2010 West IndiesBridgetown England Australia
2012 Sri LankaColombo West Indies Sri Lanka
2014 BangladeshDhaka Sri LankaIndia
2016 IndiaKolkata West Indies England
2020 Australia
Cricket World Cup Winners list

The following may be a list of the winning country and runner up for every Cricket tournament. Click on the country names for additional country info, or click on the year for additional info regarding the tournament for that year.





Match Result

1975EnglandWest IndiesAustraliaWest Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndiaWest IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987IndiaAustraliaEnglandAustralia won by 7 runs
1992AustraliaPakistanEnglandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996PakistanSri LankaAustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustraliaPakistanAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustraliaIndiaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustraliaSri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs
2011IndiaIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015AustraliaAustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won by 7 wickets
History of the Cricket World Cup

The first world cup was held in 1975 just four years after one day cricket took the world by storm. It was the ICC’s official response to the ‘World series of cricket’ Phenomenon which was proving incredibly popular with fans. In the last 40 years, the tournament has been held all over the cricketing world and has been won by teams from every corner of the globe. The tournament in 2019 will be the twelfth time the competition has been played and the fifth time it has been played in the UK. England and Wales have previously hosted in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999.


Qualification for the 2019 Cricket World Cup

Only 10 teams will qualify for the 2019 world cup after a decision was taken to shrink the size of the tournament. In 2011 and in 2015 the tournament had 14 teams but ICC has decided few nations will make for better competition. England will qualify automatically because they are hosting the tournament, as will the top seven one day international nations according to the latest ICC rankings 6 months prior to the tournament.


However, that leaves only two spots for the remaining test playing nations and affiliate members of the ICC. Those places have been taken by Afghanistan and West Indies at a qualifying tournament which was held in Bangladesh in March 2018. This tournament included the remaining four teams that failed to make the top seven one day international spots plus the top four teams from the Cricket World League Championships.

Cricket World Cup Results

In the eleven Interstate Commerce Commission Cricket World Cups command to date, Five completely different groups have won the tournament. Australia is that the most prospering tournament team having won the tournament 5 times, and were runner up another twice.

West Indies won the primary 2 tournaments, and the Asian nation has additionally won it twice. Asian country and country have won one tournament every. country (1996) and Asian nation (2011) are the sole hosts to win after they co-hosted the tournament.

Read More – Icc World cup 2019 schedule

Updated: 10/06/2019 — 8:29 pm